Does the Hawaiian Kingdom Still Exist?

British protectorate: Although Australia, New Zealand and Hawaii have Captain Cook in common, they experienced Western contact differently. Australia and New Zealand became British colonies. Hawaii didn’t. By 1795 most of the Hawaiian Islands had become a united kingdom under Kamehameha I. A separate kingdom, Kauai, and its dependency, Niihau, were absorbed around 1820. Apart from his high chiefs, Kamehameha I was advised by two trusted Englishmen, John Young and Isaac Davis, who had fought alongside him in his wars of conquest. He had a strong grasp of domestic affairs. He also had a strong sense of foreign affairs, as…

Subscribe to get access to all online articles