Welcome to Quadrant Online | Login/ Register Cart (0) $0 View Cart

About Us

The most cosmopolitan and sophisticated small magazine in Australian history — Greg Sheridan, The Australian, January 2008

Quadrant magazine is Australia’s leading journal of ideas, essays, literature, poetry, and historical and political debate. It is published monthly, ten times a year, with double editions in January-February and July-August.

Since 1956 Quadrant has maintained a tradition of publishing original writing on every aspect of society, as well as some of Australia’s best fiction and poetry. Although it retains its founding bias towards cultural freedom, anti-totalitarianism and classical liberalism, its pages are open to any well-written and thoughtful contribution.

While fashionable thought in much of the Australian media, universities and the arts remains influenced by left-wing moral authoritarianism, Quadrant has persistently questioned this orthodoxy. For the past decade, it has been at the forefront of the so-called Culture Wars. It has:

  • exposed the shoddiness and political bias of much academic historical and anthropological writing
  • deplored the politicisation of the arts
  • analysed the decay of our public universities from political correctness and managerialism
  • debated the place of religion in our society, especially the importance of the Judeo-Christian heritage to Western civilisation
  • turned a sceptical eye on a range of intellectual fads and fashions including postmodernism, cultural relativism, multiculturalism and radical environmentalism.

Quadrant is uncompromisingly in favour of freedom of thought and expression. While insisting on civilised discourse, it opposes any political, academic or religious tendency that wants to suppress freedom of speech. It does not support diversity for diversity’s sake nor does it mindlessly endorse tolerance of all viewpoints, especially those that do not return the compliment. Rather, it understands tolerance to mean the willingness to listen to unpopular or unorthodox views that are well argued, while in practice taking tolerance to mean the willingness to live and let live, which is so typical of Australian life.

Quadrant was founded in 1956 as an initiative of the Australian Committee for Cultural Freedom, itself associated with the Congress for Cultural Freedom, and so was part of the defensive against Communist inspired, subsidised and/or influenced intellectual publications of the post-World War II era. It remains the last survivor of the group of publications which included Encounter (UK), Preuves (France), Monat (Germany). Critics have alleged that in the 1950s Quadrant enjoyed some kind of funding through the Congress for Cultural Freedom from the US Central Intelligence Agency; if so none of its editors ever knew of or were influenced in any way by such funding. It is, however, hardly shameful to have indirectly received funds from the agency of a liberal democratic government rather than the Russian and Chinese Communist dictatorships that directly funded several Australian leftist publications in that period.


Quadrant’s first editor was James McAuley, one of Australia’s greatest poets. Its longest-standing editor was Peter Coleman (1967-1978, 1981-1990), followed by Paddy McGuinness (1998-2008).


Current personnel are:

Editor, Keith Windschuttle
Deputy Editor, George Thomas
Editor Quadrant Online, Roger Franklin
Literary Editor, Les Murray


Quadrant Magazine and Quadrant Online are published by Quadrant Magazine Ltd. Chairman of the board of directors is Elizabeth Prior Jonson.

Legal Notice

All views expressed in Quadrant and Quadrant Online are those of the individual authors and do not reflect the thoughts, opinions or beliefs of the editors or of Quadrant Magazine Ltd.

Quadrant Online Sponsors

We are very grateful to the following people who have generously sponsored this website and without whom it would not have been possible:

Brian Abrahamson
Anthony Adair
David and Jenny Armstrong
Madeline Armstrong
Giles Auty
R. M. Badgery
David M. Bennett
Graham Binet
Len Bosman
Geoff Brennan
Bern Brent
Reg Brownell
John Burgess
John Calvert
Kathleen Campbell
J. L. Charley
W. D. G. Clarke
Hal Colebatch
Peter Coleman
Owen Coltman
Brian Coman
Walter Commins
Michael Cook
Sir Zelman Cowen
B. Crommelin
Robert Cunningham
Christopher Dawson
Graham Eagleton
Eric J. Easton
Robert Elegant
Glenda Ellis
Lindsay Ellison SC
James Franklin
Colin F. Friezer
Chris Game
Elaine Gee
Brian Gibson
John Gigacz
Sue M. Gilet
Reuben Goldsworthy
H. C. Griffin
Gavin Grimes
David and Judy Gunter
Ray Harty
John Hawkins
Peter Henderson AC
R. W. Henderson
R. M. Hillman
Louis Hissink
D. S. Houghton
Peter Howson
Helen Hughes
Alan Irving
Gary Johns
George Karatsinidis
Peter Kelly
W. M. R. Kelly
Stephen Kenmore
Trevor Kennedy
Tom Knox
Michael Kottek
Dame Leonie Kramer
Geoffrey Lehmann
M. Letts
G. E. Lines
James Litchfield
Gillian Lord
John Lynch
Ian MacFarlane
D M Madden
John Maher
Barry Maley
Bruce Mansfield
Philip Marchant
Clement Marrinan
Sophie Masson
Bob Masterman
Ray McCulloch
Andrew McHardy
Douglas Meagher QC
Kenneth Minogue
J. D. Moore
Peter Morris
Allan J. Myers
John Offord
Tom O’Neill
Desmond O’Toole
Sir Arvi Parbo
Peter J. Ratcliffe
Robert Phillips
Angela Ridsdale
Rosemary Righter
Dennis Rose
Peter Rowe
Felix Ruut
Lee Shrubb
Melanie Simmons
J Snelling
Gemma Solomon
John Stone
Leonard Sussman
Trevor Sykes
Brian Symons
Ron Taft
Charles F. Tate
Garth Thompson
Henry Thornton
C. Trott
Ian Warner
W. Wentworth
Sir Bruce Williams
John Williams
Terry Young
and 40 anonymous donors.